It was a bumpy night for Olympic men's short track speed skating, as competitors went down in both the quarterfinal and semifinal. History repeated itself moments ago in the final race, and Apolo Ohno—who had won silver—was disqualified.
First up, the race itself, in which Ohno put his hand on Canada's Francois-Louis Tremblay's hip before Tremblay lost control and crashed. (In the wake of Tremblay's wipeout, Korea's Si-Bak Sung also went down.)
As it stood after the race, Canada's Charles Hamelin had placed first, Ohno was in second and Sung was likely in third. Judges then reviewed, the video footage, however, and determined that Ohno's "bump" of Tremblay warranted his disqualification. Video of the decision is below.
With Ohno disqualified, Hamelin kept the gold, Sung was awarded silver and Tremblay—wipeout and all—won bronze.
It goes without saying that Ohno, who was in last place for the majority of the race, was shocked afterward—both when the two crashes catapulted him into second...
...and when the decision to disqualify him was handed down.
Was Ohno's disqualification fair, or did he deserve the silver medal? We'll let you review the footage and decide for yourself.
Update: It had to be done, so I did it: