Mayor Bill de Blasio just announced that all New York City schools will be closed Tuesday due to the "crippling" blizzard expected to hit the Northeast U.S. sometime this evening. LIRR and Metro North services will end at 11 p.m., and limited service on NYC subways will begin at 11 p.m., though the MTA says extra trains are operating this afternoon to help with the pre-blizzard rush.

A state of emergency has been declared in New York City, Long Island, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, Dutchess, and Ulster counties.

NYC roads will be shut down to all non-emergency traffic starting at 11 p.m., and public parks will close at 6 p.m

[Image via AP]